Wednesday, March 17, 2010

2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Race Format Released

Scheduled on May 22nd at Charlotte Motor Speedway, eligible NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers and car owners will compete for a 1 million dollar prize in the Sprint All-Star race.

For the 2010 edition of the Sprint All-Star race, all competitors will be required to make a four-tire pit stop before the final 10 lap segment. Other than the mandatory four-tire stop added for this season's upcoming event, NASCAR's 2010 Sprint All-Star race will run fundamentally unchanged from the 2009 race. With four segments totaling 100 laps (40 laps, 20 laps, 20 laps and a final 10 lap segment), this race will also include the typical transfer drivers. Two driver will gain entry through the Sprint Showdown, a qualifying race amongst the All-Star non-eligible drivers. One final driver will gain access to the All-Star race by the vote of NASCAR fans.

The NASCAR Sprint All-Star race first ran in 1985 as an non-points event arranged by than Cup series title sponsor Winston to reward the previous year's race winner. Originally a straight, single segment 70-lap race, the race has since been divided into multiple segments to four (the amount being run this year). In recent years, the had featured certain wrinkles such as field inversions and a so-called 'survivor-style' eliminations. One notable feature to the All-Star event was use of double-file restarts; a procedure expanded starting mid-last season to all-regular series races in major NASCAR series events.

No comments:

Post a Comment