Saturday, April 28, 2012

Mark Martin Takes Pole for Richmond Sprint Cup Race

Photo Credit: Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images for NASCAR

Coming off two races on 1.5-mile ovals, the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series are steered towards the 3/4-mile Richmond International Raceway for the Capital City 400. Recent NASCAR Sprint Cup series races on at Texas Motor Speedway and Kansas Speedway received less than enthusiastic fanfare afterwards based on what many said were dull events. A racetrack that has for years won the approval of stock car competitors and fans as a model for short-track racing, the Richmond International Raceway's Saturday night event is seen as a great chance to see a much-needed, action-filled 400-lap race for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

For the second time this season, part-time Sprint Cup competitor Mark Martin placed the #55 Aarons Toyota on the pole position. Lapping the 3/4-mile short track in 21.040 seconds at a speed of 128.327 miles per hour, Martin edged the #99 Roush Fenway Racing Ford of Carl Edwards with a slim 0.006-second advantage. Mark Martin's pole position highlights the suspreme dominance of Toyota Camrys in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Richmond International Raceway. In the past 6 races held at the short track, Toyota entries won 5 of the events. However, every win by Toyota occurred with the Joe Gibbs Racing team in victory lane. Showing some outstanding pace this season, the three-car Michael Waltrip Racing team is currently the most united in front-running Performance. With Mark Martin on the pole, Martin Truex Jr starting in 8th place and #15 car of Clint Bowyer (a previous winner at Richmond) lined up 23rd, the chances of seeing a Michael Waltrip Racing victory this season may occur sooner rather than later.

Behind Carl Edwards, last summer's race winner Kevin Harvick starts 3rd alongside the #22 car of AJ Allmendinger. The previously mentioned Joe Gibbs Racing squad placed well after qualifying with Kyle Busch in 5th, Danny Hamlin 7th and Joey Logano 18th.

Still clawing for what will be a popular 200th win for Hendrick Motorsports, three of the four teams are starting in the top-10. Leading the Chevrolet-powered Hencrick Motorsports team is Jeff Gordon in 6th place. In order, Kasey Kahne Farmers Insurance car and Dale Earnhardt Jr National Guard Chevy fill the fifth row of the Capital City 400. Mustering a 27th fastest run, Jimmie Johnson encountered trouble in qualifying resulting in his #48 Chevrolet being the slowest car of the Hendrick Motorsports group. Hendrick Motorsports has won ten times in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series at Richmond.

The 400-lap NASCAR Sprint Cup race is scheduled to start at 7:30 PM Eastern time.

2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup
Capital City 400
Richmond International Raceway

Pos # Car # Driver Sponsor/ Car Make

1 55 Mark Martin Aaron's Dream Machine Toyota
2 99 Carl Edwards Ford Eco-Boost Ford
3 29 Kevin Harvick Jimmy John's Chevrolet
4 22 AJ Allmendinger Shell Pennzoil Dodge
5 18 Kyle Busch M&M's Brown Toyota
6 24 Jeff Gordon DuPont Chevrolet
7 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Freight Toyota
8 56 Martin Truex Jr. NAPA Brakes Toyota
9 5 Kasey Kahne Farmers Insurance Chevrolet
10 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. National Guard / Diet Mountain Dew Chevrolet
11 43 Aric Almirola Smithfield Helping Hungry Homes Ford
12 39 Ryan Newman Army Reserve Chevrolet
13 51 Kurt Busch Phoenix Construction Services Chevrolet
14 9 Marcos Ambrose Stanley Ford
15 78 Regan Smith Furniture Row Racing / Farm American
16 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Dodge
17 36 Dave Blaney Chevrolet
18 20 Joey Logano The Home Depot Toyota
19 47 Bobby Labonte Bush's Beans Toyota
20 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Target Chevrolet
21 83 Landon Cassill Burger King / Dr. Pepper Toyota
22 14 Tony Stewart MOBIL 1 / Office Depot Chevrolet
23 15 Clint Bowyer 5-hour Energy Toyota
24 17 Matt Kenseth Ford EcoBoost Ford
25 98 Michael McDowell Curb Records Ford
26 13 Casey Mears GEICO Ford
27 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's Chevrolet
28 16 Greg Biffle 3M / GKAS Ford
29 93 Travis Kvapil Burger King / Dr. Pepper Toyota
30 31 Jeff Burton BB&T Chevrolet
31 27 Paul Menard Menards / NIBCO Chevrolet
32 26 Josh Wise Morristown Drivers Service Ford
33 10 David Reutimann Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevrolet
34 30 David Stremme Inception Motorsports Toyota
35 87 Joe Nemechek AM/FM Energy Wood & Pellet Stoves Toyota
36 95 Scott Speed TWD Drywall Ford
37 1 Jamie McMurray McDonald's Chevrolet
38 34 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford
39 19 Mike Bliss Humphrey Smith Racing Toyota
40 33 Stephen Leicht / Link-Belt Chevrolet
41 38 David Gilliland Long John Silver's Ford
42 32 Reed Sorenson FAS Lane Racing Ford
43 74 Cole Whitt Turn One Racing Chevrolet

No comments:

Post a Comment