Saturday, August 6, 2011

Logano to Launch from Pole at Pocono Cup Race

Photo Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Taking his second pole of the season, Joe Gibbs Racing driver Joey Logano will lead the 43-car NASCAR Sprint Cup field to green for Sunday's Good Sam RV Insurance 500 at Pocono Raceway. Rounding the 2.5-mile oval in 52.309 seconds, the #20 Toyota grabbed the pole position from the #56 Toyota driven by Martin Truex Jr. Logano's top time would hold up against the effort mounted by Kasey Kahne #4 Red Bull Toyota for the time trial triumph.

With Joey Logano's name mixed in the NASCAR Sprint cup Silly Season, the 21-year old driver of the #20 Home Depot Toyota is looking to renovate his season with a top finish. Prior to this week, the strongest rumours had current NASCAR Sprint Cup Series point leader Carl Edwards signing to drive the #20 for 2012. As Edwards and Roush Fenway Racing announced a multi-year deal on Thursday, Logano's role in the Joe Gibbs Racing team has gained some security.

After a Toyota Camry sweep of the top-three for the Good Sam RV Insurance 500, the resigned Carl Edwards sailed his #99 Ford Fusion to a 4th place at Pocono Raceway. In the June Pocono event, the #99 Roush Fenway Racing team lost their considerable lead in the series points due to a mechanical problem costing the team several laps in the event. Kurt Busch's #22 Dodge and the #11 Toyota of Denny Hamlin will start from the third row at Pocono. The fourth row will be an all-Richard Childress Racing pairing with recent Indianapolis Motor Speedway Brickyard 400 winner Paul Menard having position over Jeff Burton. Greg Biffle and Kevin Harvick completes the top-10 for Sunday's race.



2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup
Pocono, Pennsylvania
Good Sam RV Insurance 500
Starting Line-up

  1. 20 Joey Logano Home Depot Toyota
  2. 4 Kasey Kahne Red Bull Toyota
  3. 56 Martin Truex, Jr. NAPA Auto Parts Toyota
  4. 99 Carl Edwards Ortho Home Defense Max Ford
  5. 22 Kurt Busch Shell/Pennzoil Dodge
  6. 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Office Toyota
  7. 27 Paul Menard CertainTeed/Menards Chevrolet
  8. 31 Jeff Burton Caterpillar Chevrolet
  9. 16 Greg Biffle 3M/811 Ford
  10. 29 Kevin Harvick Budweiser Chevrolet
  11. 18 Kyle Busch M&M's Toyota
  12. 39 Ryan Newman Tornados Chevrolet
  13. 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Dodge
  14. 33 Clint Bowyer Good Sam Club Chevrolet
  15. 6 David Ragan UPS Ford
  16. 1 Jamie McMurray Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats Chevrolet
  17. 78 Regan Smith Furniture Row Chevrolet
  18. 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's Chevrolet
  19. 88 Dale Earnhardt, Jr. AMP Energy/National Guard Chevrolet
  20. 17 Matt Kenseth Crown Royal Ford
  21. 36 Dave Blaney Golden Corral Chevrolet
  22. 47 Bobby Labonte Reese Towpower/Highland Toyota
  23. 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Target Chevrolet
  24. 34 David Gilliland Front Row Motorsports Ford
  25. 5 Mark Martin Chevrolet
  26. 83 Brian Vickers Red Bull Toyota
  27. 9 Marcos Ambrose DeWalt Ford
  28. 14 Tony Stewart Office Depot/Mobil 1 Chevrolet
  29. 43 AJ Allmendinger Best Buy Ford
  30. 66 Todd Bodine HP Racing, LLC Toyota
  31. 24 Jeff Gordon Drive To End Hunger Chevrolet
  32. 13 Casey Mears GEICO Toyota
  33. 00 David Reutimann Aaron's Dream Machine Toyota
  34. 55 JJ Yeley Front Row Motorsports Ford
  35. 46 Erik Darnell Red Line Ford
  36. 51 Landon Cassill PhoenixConstruction/SecurityBenefit Chev
  37. 30 David Stremme Inception Motorsports Chevrolet
  38. 7 Robby Gordon SPEED Energy Dodge
  39. 38 Travis Kvapil Long John Silver's Ford
  40. 37 Scott Speed Max Q Motorsports Ford
  41. 32 Jason White Ford
  42. 71 Andy Lally Interstate Moving Services Ford
  43. 87 Joe Nemechek AM FM Energy Toyota

No comments:

Post a Comment