Friday, January 22, 2010

Toro Rosso F1 Team Names Alguersuari to Complete 2010 Driver Line-up

With a month and a half remaining before the 2010 Formula 1 season, Scuderia Toro Rosso chose to retain the driver lineup they ended in the 2009 F1 tour. On Friday, Toro Rosso announced resigning the 2008 F3 Champion Jaime Alguersuari to the second Ferrari-powered entry for the Faenza, Italy-based F1 team. Joining Sebestian Buemi, Alguersuari driving duties for the Toro Rosso race team started at the Hungarian Grand Prix in July 2009 when multiple time Champ car champion Sebestian Bourdais stepped away from the organization. In 8 races, Jaime Alguersuari's best finish has been a 14th place at the Brazian Grand Prix in one of only 3 races he was able to complete in the Toro Rosso-Ferrari for the 2009 Formula 1 season.

The Scuderia Toro Rosso team ended last season poorly, scoring only 8 points in the entire 2009 Formula 1 placing the Red Bull-owned team in last position for the F1 constructor championship. In the previous year, Sebestian Vettal (promoted to the Red Bull Racing team in 2009) captured a surprise checkered flag at the Italian Grand Prix on the high-speed Monza curcuit leading to the Toro Rosso team's best F1 year since their debut in 2006. As the team takes the grid for 2010, ScuderiaToro Rosso will hope that either Alguersuari or Buemi will find the right stuff to allow the team to taste the champagne of victory again.

No comments:

Post a Comment