Sunday, July 25, 2010

J.R. Fitzpatrick Wins NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Race at Edmonton

Photo Credit: Perry Nelson/NASCAR

For the second straight weekend, the 2010 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series play companion to the IZOD IndyCar Series. Offering a stark departure to the open wheel racing on the Edmonton City Airport race circuit, the Canadian Tire 100 presented by Konica Minolta unleahed the clumzy handling full-bodied stock cars around the converted road course.

In a late morning Sunday, 22 NASCAR Canadian Tire series cars started the 100 mile, 32 lap affair was led from pole by the #84 Schick Hydro Chevrolet Impala of J.R. Fitzpatrick. Finishing 8th a week ago on the streets of Toronto, Fitzpatrick's effort was soured in the late stages by a poor restart. Coming back with a vengence at Edmonton early, Fitzpatrick held off second place's #02 Ford of Kerry Micks.

An unique sight seeing the stock cars run within the long and wide airport circuit, the race would ultimately be less attractive in a competitive context. Hindered by only one caution flying through the course of the Canadian Tire 100 presented by Konica Minolta, the stopped #1 car of Daryl Harr on lap 18 would also be in a very short field of non-finishers in the event. Though the Edmonton City Airport circuit did not breeding a large number of quality passing, there were a number of drivers who experienced some impressive runs. Having started 3rd, Anthony Simone would find his way around Kerry Micks for the second place position. Simone would finish in the runner-up spot tying his series-best effort scored at the Trois Riviere event August 2009. In another impressive run after a top-10 in Toronto, Trevor Seibert drove the #69 Dodge to 4th behind 2008 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series champ Scott Steckly.

Leading all 32 laps, J.R. Fitzpatrick took the his #84 Chevy to victory ahead of Simone. Defending his 2009 victory, Fitzpatrick's 2010 win at Edmonton comes as he progresses through a hard charge for his first NASCAR Canadian Tire Series championship (However, Fitzpatrick did win the final CASCAR Superseries title back in 2006 just before the tour was absorbed into NASCAR Canada).

No comments:

Post a Comment