Saturday, May 1, 2010

Kyle Busch Will Lead NASCAR Sprint Cup Field at Richmond

Photo Credit: Pennington/Getty Images for NASCAR

Taking pole for Saturday's running of the Crown Royal Presents the Heath Calhoun 400 is the #18 Toyota of Kyle Busch. Lapping the 0.75 mile Richmond International Raceway short track at 21.247 seconds, Busch prevailed over the Michael Waltrip Racing-owned #00 Toyota of David Reutimann by 8/100ths of a second.

In 3rd and 4th spot, the Hendrick Motorsports team placed two Chevrolets behind the Toyota pairing starting the Saturday night Richmond event. Jimmie Johnson's #48 Chevrolet is one spot higher than the #24 of Jeff Gordon to secure the second row. Don't expect for any fuel to be added the overblown alleged feud between Johnson and Gordon. Reports have team owner Rick Hendrick sitting down with both drivers to talk through the rift between the tightly-knitted teammates.

Ryan Newman, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Jamie McMurray, Brian Vickers and Clint Bowyer round out the top-10 starting positions.

Also capturing the pole for the NASCAR Nationwide running for Friday night, Kyle Busch has a lot positive history at Richmond International Raceway. The site of his first NASCAR race win in the than-Busch Series (now Nationwide Series) in 2004, Kyle Busch has been the highest finishing driver in the past 10 NASCAR Sprint Cup series events at the short track. Busch and his #18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota is also the reigning winner of the 400-lap race.

The running of the 2010 Crown Royal Presents the Heath Calhoun 400 will be televised on FOX with the cue to start engines coming shortly 7:30PM.

2010 Crown Royal Presents the Heath Calhoun 400
at Richmond International Raceway

NASCAR Sprint Cup
Starting Lineup

Pos # | Car # | Driver | Sponsor/Car Make
1) 18 Kyle Busch         M&M's Toyota
2) 00 David Reutimann Aaron's Dream Machine Toyota
3) 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's / KOBALT Tools Chevrolet
4) 24 Jeff Gordon DuPont Chevrolet
5) 39 Ryan Newman Army Medicine Chevrolet
6) 12 Brad Keselowski Penske Dodge
7) 29 Kevin Harvick Reese's Chevrolet
8) 1 Jamie McMurray Bass Pro Shops / Tracker Boats Chevrolet
9) 83 Brian Vickers Red Bull Toyota
10) 33 Clint Bowyer BB&T Chevrolet
11) 87 Joe Nemechek NEMCO Motorsports Toyota
12) 82 Scott Speed Red Bull Toyota
13) 36 Casey Mears H.D. Segar Inc. Insurance Chevrolet
14) 5 Mark Martin / Chevrolet
15) 43 A J Allmendinger Valvoline Ford
16) 2 Kurt Busch Miller Lite Dodge
17) 31 Jeff Burton Caterpillar Chevrolet
18) 14 Tony Stewart Office Depot / Old Spice Chevrolet
19) 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Target Chevrolet
20) 47 Marcos Ambrose Bush's Best Baked Beans / Kingsford Toyota
21) 17 Matt Kenseth Crown Royal Ford
22) 9 Kasey Kahne Budweiser 25th Anniversary Ford
23) 20 Joey Logano The Home Depot Toyota
24) 19 Elliott Sadler Reynolds Ford
25) 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. National Guard / AMP Energy Chevrolet
26) 56 Martin Truex Jr. NAPA Auto Parts Toyota
27) 77 Sam Hornish Jr. Mobil 1 Dodge
28) 99 Carl Edwards Scotts EZ Seed Ford
29) 78 Regan Smith Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet
30) 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Ground Toyota
31) 71 Bobby Labonte TRG Motorsports Chevrolet
32) 98 Paul Menard Schrock / /Menards Ford
33) 16 Greg Biffle 3M Ford
34) 32 Reed Sorenson Braun Racing Toyota
35) 6 David Ragan UPS Ford
36) 09 Mike Bliss Phoenix Construction / Graceway Chevrolet
37) 7 Robby Gordon / James Otto / Whitney Duncan
38) 34 Travis Kvapil Long John Silver's Ford
39) 26 David Stremme Air National Guard Ford
40) 37 David Gilliland Taco Bell Ford
41) 46 Terry Cook The Atlantic Company Dodge
42) 38 Kevin Conway Extenze Ford
43) 64 Tony Raines Gunselman Motorsports Toyota

No comments:

Post a Comment