Saturday, May 29, 2010

IZOD IndyCar Will Use Fan Votes to Name Road Course/ Oval Trophy

With North American open wheel racing finally reunited under the IZOD IndyCar Series, the tour returned to the race track diversity which made the glory days of Indy car-style competition so special. Announced at the beginning of May, the IZOD IndyCar Series has expanded their series points program in 2010. Not only recognize the overall championship but the highest points-scoring drivers in the collected road race and oval races will each be rewarded a new championship.

Starting the 2010 season with four road races, the a set of drivers such as Will Power and Ryan Hunter-Reay established themselves as front runners through the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series. However, as the American open wheel racing competitors turned to ovals, those contenders' advantage in the series overall championship appeared dulled. In the case of Will Power particularly, his road racing credentials are stellar in open wheel but his lack of oval experience is fairly apparent. Though the overall IZOD IndyCar Series Championship is the goal of every major driver, the two sub-championships acknowledges the efforts within the diverse schedule.

With the inaugural year of these new championships, IndyCar is asking fans help on naming the trophies to be presented at the end of the 2010 season. Choosing from a list of four nominees, the following drivers are in contention:


Mario Andretti
A.J. Foyt Jr.
Ted Horn
Rick Mears
Bill Vukovich

Road Course:

Mario Andretti
Mark Donohue
Dan Gurney
Al Unser Jr.
Alex Zanardi

To make your vote count, please to the website below before June 3rd.

No comments:

Post a Comment