Saturday, July 9, 2011

Kyle Busch's Practice Speed Wins Pole at Kentucky

Photo Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

A predictable outcome for Friday's NASCAR Sprint Cup qualifying at Kentucky Speedway resulted in the #18 M&M Toyota of Kyle Busch starting on the pole for the inaugural race on the 1.5 mile speedway. However, the predictability was not because the Joe Gibbs Racing driver (who came from back in the field to win Thursday's Camping World Truck Series race) fast outings on track throughout the weekend. Rather, the forecast fall of rain showers washed out the qualifying session for Saturday night's Quaker State 400. Under NASCAR's new-for-2011 using practice times instead of car owner points as the primary way to set race fields, Kyle Busch's 182.803 mile per hour time in the final practice session clinched the top spot when rain washed out the Kentucky Speedway. By virtue of their fast practice times, Juan Pablo Montoya, Kurt Busch, Kasey Kahne and Jimmie Johnson fills out the top-5 starting positions for the first Kentucky Speedway event with NASCAR Sprint Cup series.

As 48 cars would have vyed for the 43 starting spots through the time trial session, some cars were favoured entry into the Quaker State 400 as a result of qualifying attempts made by a car throughout the 2011 season. Solidifying Joe Nemechek's #87 Toyota, the #60 Toyota driven by Mike Skinner and Travis Kvapil's #38 Ford in the race field at Kentucky Speedway, the rain robbed an opportunity for other drivers. The most significant driver missing out on the Quaker State 400 is Michael Waltrip. The home state for theWaltrip brothers Michael as well as his three-time Cup champion driver Darrell, the first Kentucky Speedway Sprint Cup event will not have the famous racing family represented in the 43-car field.

NASCAR Sprint Cup regular Robby Gordon has also missed the chance to compete with his #77 car at the Quaker State 400 due to the wet track. Though Robby Gordon did not make it into the race, the #7 Dodge owned by the driver will start the NASCAR Sprint Cup Kentucky event in the hands of Scott Wimmer. TJ Bell, David Stremme and David Starr have into been forced to call their weekend's short without attempting a qualifying run.  

2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup
Quaker State 400
Sparta, Kentucky
  1. 18 Kyle Busch M&M's Toyota
  2. 42 Juan Pablo Montoya Target Chevrolet
  3. 22 Kurt Busch Shell/Pennzoil Dodge
  4. 4 Kasey Kahne Red Bull Toyota
  5. 48 Jimmie Johnson Lowe's Chevrolet
  6. 2 Brad Keselowski Miller Lite Dodge
  7. 99 Carl Edwards Aflac Ford
  8. 6 David Ragan UPS Ford
  9. 14 Tony Stewart Office Depot/Mobil 1 Chevrolet
  10. 27 Paul Menard Sylvania/Menards Chevrolet
  11. 9 Marcos Ambrose Porter-Cable Ford
  12. 78 Regan Smith Furniture Row Chevrolet
  13. 17 Matt Kenseth Crown Royal Ford
  14. 24 Jeff Gordon DuPont Chevrolet
  15. 20 Joey Logano Home Depot Toyota
  16. 56 Martin Truex Jr. NAPA Good To Go Toyota
  17. 0 David Reutimann TUMS Toyota
  18. 39 Ryan Newman Tornados Chevrolet
  19. 29 Kevin Harvick Budweiser Chevrolet
  20. 33 Clint Bowyer Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet
  21. 16 Greg Biffle 3M Ford
  22. 31 Jeff Burton Caterpillar Chevrolet
  23. 43 A J Allmendinger Valvoline Ford
  24. 47 Bobby Labonte Cottonelle Clean Care Toyota
  25. 13 Casey Mears GEICO Toyota
  26. 11 Denny Hamlin FedEx Ground Toyota
  27. 83 Brian Vickers Red Bull Toyota
  28. 5 Mark Martin Quaker State/ Chevrolet
  29. 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Diet Mountain Dew/National Guard Chevrolet
  30. 51 Landon Cassill Security Benefits/Thank A Teacher Today
  31. 87 Joe Nemechek NEMCO Motorsports Toyota
  32. 36 Dave Blaney Big Red Chevrolet
  33. 60 Mike Skinner Big Red Toyota
  34. 1 Jamie McMurray McDonald's Chevrolet
  35. 34 David Gilliland Taco Bell Ford
  36. 46  J J Yeley Red Line Chevrolet
  37. 38  Travis Kvapil Long John Silver's Ford
  38. 66 Michael McDowell Standard Publishing/Relentless Hope Toyota
  39. 71 Andy Lally # Cool Works Cup Ford
  40. 81 Scott Riggs Whitney' Chevrolet
  41. 37 Tony Raines Front Row Motorsports Ford
  42. 32 Mike Bliss Big Red Ford
  43. 7 Scott Wimmer SPEED Energy Dodge


No comments:

Post a Comment