Saturday, September 25, 2010

Jimmie Johnson Prevails with NASCAR Sprint Cup Pole at Dover

Photo Credit: Nick Laham/Getty Images
After a frighteningly bad start to the 2010 Chase for the Sprint Cup at New Hampshire last weekend, Jimmie Johnson and his #48 Lowes-sponsored Hendrick Motorsports team conquered the "Monster Mile" in NASCAR Sprint Cup qualifying for Dover International Speedway's AAA 400. Taking a late draw in the qualifying order, Johnson overcame a 19th fastest time in the Friday morning practice session to beat out AJ Allmendinger and Martin Truex Jr for the third 2010 pole for the #48 Chevrolet. Driver fastest in practice Ryan Newman could only muster a 14th place run during the time trial at Dover.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase leader Denny Hamlin starts 4th for Sunday's race, 2nd place challenger Kevin Harvick (elevated to the position after a 150 point NASCAR penalty dropped Clint Bowyer from 2nd to 12th) will be working his way up from another poor start 33rd on the field.

Scheduled for Sunday afternoon at about 1:00 P.M. the engines will start for the second race within the 2010 Chase for the Sprint Cup.

2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup
AAA 400
Dover International Speedway
Qualifying Results


Pos #  |  Car #   | Driver  | Sponsor/Car make

1)           48            Jimmie Johnson        Lowe's/KOBALT Tools Chevrolet (C)
2)           43            AJ Allmendinger       Insignia HDTV Ford
3)           56            Martin Truex Jr.       NAPA Toyota
4)           11            Denny Hamlin           FedEx Express Toyota (C)
5)           42            Juan Pablo Montoya Target Chevrolet
6)           16            Greg Biffle                3M Ford (C)
7)             1             Jamie McMurray     McDonald's Chevrolet
8)             2             Kurt Busch              Miller Lite Dodge (C)
9)            98            Paul Menard            Sylvania/Menards Ford
10)          99            Carl Edwards           Aflac Ford (C)

Other Notables:

11)          18 Kyle Busch Interstate Batteries Toyota (C)
14)          17            Matt Kenseth            Crown Royal Ford (C)
15)          24            Jeff Gordon               DuPont/Law Enforcement Museum Chevrolet (C)
16)           9             Kasey Kahne             Budweiser/Stanley Ford
24)          33            Clint Bowyer              BB&T Chevrolet (C)
25)          14             Tony Stewart            Office Depot/Old Spice Chevrolet (C)
31)          12             Brad Keselowski       No. 12 Penske Dodge Dodge
32)          88             Dale Earnhardt Jr.     National Guard/AMP Energy Chevrolet
33)          29             Kevin Harvick           Shell/Pennzoil Chevrolet (C)
42) 5              Mark Martin Delphi/ Chevrolet

(C) denotes Chase contender

No comments:

Post a Comment