Saturday, February 12, 2011

Ty Dillon to Start on Pole for ARCA Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 at Daytona

Photo Credit: ARCA

Taking the pole at 185.533 miles per hour around Daytona International Speedway for the ARCA Racing Series Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200, The #41 Chevrolet of Ty Dillon claims the first competitive pole on the resurfaced 2.5 mile oval circuit. Handily beating the times of Venturini Motorsports drivers Kyle Fowler and Canadian Steve Aprin, 18 year-old Ty Dillion (the grandson of NASCAR Sprint Cup team owner Richard Childress and brother of 2011 NASCAR Camping World series driver Austin Dillon) has earned his second pole out of 4 total ARCA Racing Series starts.

Matt Merrell and Bobby Gerhart 5-time reigning winner of the ARCA 200 mile race at Daytona fills out the top-5 starters for Saturday afternoon. With 43 cars completing the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 grid, 4 countries of male and female racers will be suiting up for the 2011 edition of the event. Some notable names starting this event will be NASCAR regular Ricky Carmichael in 7th place, 2011 Toyota All-Star race winner Jason Bowles in 16th, Venezuela INDYCAR driver Milka Duno in 23rd and 9-time ARCA champion Frank Kimmel starting 26th. 76 years young, NASCAR Cup series winning car James Hylton will start the ARCA Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 in 35th place driving his #48 Ford. 

Assembled as the first stock car race to be run on the smooth, oval pavement, the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 for the ARCA Racing Series is likely to be closely examined by NASCAR as drafting speed, tire wear and the racing itself is less predictable than previous years. Judging qualifying for the ARCA race alone, single car speeds around the 2.5 oval Daytona International Speedway is 4 miles per hour faster than the time trial laps in 2010.

The first race kicking off the 2011 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 at Daytona International Speedway is set to start at 4:30 PM Saturday afternoon.

2011 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200
Daytona International Speedway

Pos #  | Car #  | Driver |  Origin  | Sponsor/Car Make  | Qualifying Time and Speed
  1. 41 Ty Dillon/Lewisville NC UNOH Chevrolet
  2. 15 Kyle Fowler/Smyrna GA Venturini Motorsports Chevrolet
  3. 25 Steve Arpin/Fort Frances ON Mike's Hard Lemonade-Trent's Tire Toyota
  4. 32 Matt Merrell/Portland TX Red Line Oil Toyota
  5. 5 Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA Lucas Oil Slick Mist Chevrolet
  6. 55 Hal Martin/Galliano LA NOLA Motorsports Park Toyota
  7. 4 Ricky Carmichael/Tallahassee FL Monster Energy Chevrolet
  8. 66 Mark Thompson/Cartersville GA Phoenix Air Toyota
  9. 31 Tim George Jr./New York NY RCR Development Chevrolet
  10. 52 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ Federated Auto Parts Toyota
  11. 28 Miguel Paludo/Nova Prata Brazil STEMCO-Duroline Toyota
  12. 98 Kevin Swindell/Goodlettsville TN Curb Records-Eddie Sharp Racing Toyota
  13. 16 Joey Coulter/Miami Springs FL Rip It Energy Fuel-Darrell Gwynn Foundation Chevrolet
  14. 22 Dakoda Armstrong/New Castle IN Ferrellgas-Syngenta Dodge
  15. 19 Brian Rose/Louisville KY Harris Trucking-ASE Toyota
  16. 6 Jason Bowles/Ontario CA Eddie Sharp Racing Toyota
  17. 14 John Ferrier/Middletown NY CGS Imaging Ford
  18. 30 Terry Jones/Amherstburg Ontario Jones Group Dodge
  19. 17 Chris Buescher/Prosper TX Roulo Brothers Racing Ford
  20. 09 Benny Gordon/DuBois PA VSI Ford
  21. 94 Brett Hudson/Owensboro KY Hudson Performance Drivelines Dodge
  22. 11 Bryan Silas/Stuart FL National Speed Sport News-Fast Track Ford
  23. 63 Milka Duno/Caracas Venezuela Citgo Lubricants Dodge
  24. 12 Maryeve Dufault/Sorel Quebec TMR Dodge
  25. 77 Joey Licata/Van Nuys CA Wrong Inc. Dodge
  26. 44 Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN Ansell-Menards Ford
  27. 82 Sean Corr/Goshen NY Empire Racing Ford
  28. 1 Chad McCumbee/Supply NC ModSpace Ford
  29. 18 Chris Lawson/Troutman NC Ideal Steel Custom Flame Cutting Dodge
  30. 00 Ed Kennedy/Coppell TX Thunder 2 Lubricants-Daytona Lagoon Chevrolet
  31. 36 Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL Coach Dodge
  32. 26 Tommy Joe Martins/Como MS Martins Motorsports Dodge
  33. 23 Nick Igdalsky/Long Pond PA Fox Realty Chevrolet Provisional
  34. 34 Darrell Basham/Henryville IN Ford Provisional
  35. 48 James Hylton/Inman SC Ford Provisional
  36. 10 Ed Pompa/Ballston Spa NY Rifenburg Construction-Double H Ranch Chevrolet Provisional
  37. 06 Barry Fitzgerald/Sykesville MD Chevrolet Provisional
  38. 68 Steve Blackburn/Prestonsburg KY Honda of Prestonburg-Harley of Pikeville Dodge Provisional
  39. 7 Brent Cross/Cortland NY Cummings Auto Machine-Quadraflex Chevrolet Provisional
  40. 58 Chad Hackenbracht/New Philadelphia OH Tastee Apple Chevrolet Provisional
  41. 75 Benny Chastain/Tallahassee FL Drive To End Hunger AARP Toyota Provisional
  42. 3 Brent Brevak/Eau Claire WI Red's Auto Ford Provisional
  43. 42 Scott Stenzel/Orlando FL Yellow Stripes Making The Driver Ford

No comments:

Post a Comment