Saturday, October 17, 2009

Brawn's Barrichello Batters Best in Brazil GP Qualifying

The penultimate round of the 2009 Formula one season, the Brazilian Grand Prix is set to become an important moment where Brawn GP Jenson's Button could lock up the 2009 F1 driver's championship. However, for Saturday afternoon qualifying, it was Brawn GP teammate Rubens Barrichello is taking the headlines so far in Brazil. Starting his home race on the front row Barrichello will be joined by Red Bull Racing's driver Mark Webber.

The thunder of the Formula one cars in qualifying were accompanied by a persistent rain shower over the Interlagos road course. With formula one competitors reverting to their wet weather tires as the first qualifying started, Japanese grand prix victor Sebestian Vettel took top spot in the early minutes of the session. Living the dream of every Italian race car driver, Rome born Giancarlo Fisichella is making the most of his time the F60 Ferrari race car. Fisichella was second in the early stages of the first qualifying until he lost traction and later an opportunity to fend off the faster field during the latter stage of the session. The stopped Ferrari as well as the significant rainfall brought out a red flag. By the end of session #1, both driver's times were eclipsed as other drivers took advantage of slightly better track conditions. Also suffering from a lack of speed in the first round of Brazilian Grand Prix qualifying was 2008 F1 champ Lewis Hamilton and young Red Bull hopeful Sebestian Vettel who's early fastest lap also came up short. Vettel, to start in 15th place on Sunday, holds a slim but mathematically possible challenge against Button.

As session two qualifying for the Brazilian Grand Prix started, the Force India car of Vitantonio Liuzzi wrecked in spectacular fashion. After catching a large wet patch of standing water along the pit stretch, Luizzi hydroplanned into the inner wall sliding into turn one where he collided with the outer barriers. Vitantonio Liuzzi was unhurt but his Force India racer sustained substantial damage. As track crews cleaned up the wreckage of Liuzzi's accident under a second red flag, the break was extended by 40 minutes as a result of the afternoon rain showers intensifying.

In the third and final 10 minute qualifying session was when Rubens Barrichello streaked through the wet Interlagos circuit the successor in an eventful battle with five other drivers for top speed.

The Brazilian Grand Prix is set to roll at 2pm local time (12-noon Eastern time).

1. Rubens Barrichello- Brawn GP
2. Mark Webber- Red Bull
3. Adrian Sutil- Force India
4. Jarno Trulli- Toyota
5. Kimi Raikkonen- Ferrari
6. Sebastien Buemi- Toro Rosso
7. Nico Rosberg- Williams
8. Robert Kubica- BMW Sauber
9. Kazuki Nakajima- Williams
10. Fernando Alonso- Renault
11. Kamui Kobayashi- Toyota
12. Jaime Alguersuari- Toro Rosso
13. Romain Grosjean- Renault
14. Jenson Button- Brawn GP
15. Sebastian Vettel- Red Bull
16. Heikki Kovalainen- McLaren
17. Lewis Hamilton- McLaren
18. Nick Heidfeld- BMW Sauber
19. Giancarlo Fisichella- Ferrari
20. Vitantonio Liuzzi- Force India (Moved to move due to transmission change)

No comments:

Post a Comment